The Art of Stillness

Sometimes we are all so caught up in our own business; sometimes we feel like we are so ‘busy’, like we have so many things to do. Sometimes we simply feel like we have no time to do what we really want to do. Indeed, I sometimes experience this same predicament. ‘If only I had more time.’ I keep telling myself. Hours and even days go by and I wish I had them back, feeling like my seconds are ticking away. We all want to do great things, like traveling the world, or writing a novel, or becoming famous, or changing lives. This world puts a lot of expectations on our backs. But, ironically, the place that travel writer Pico Iyer would want to go to is… nowhere.

Pico Iyer is the author of the book The Art of Stillness, and he talks about his story in TED talks, like this one below.

http://www.ted.com/talks/pico_iyer_the_art_of_stillness

In a world where everything is happening and people want to do everything, I take some time to just do nothing but think. It’s a cathartic experience; taking a break from the world helps you come back to your senses and set your mind back on track. Spending just 5-15 minutes just being separate from EVERYTHING, is a very powerful act. It’s not very easy to explain here, so I recommend you try it for yourself. Pico Iyer is a much better speaker than I am, so take his word for it.

Leave a Reply

